Bill of Rights: 1st Amendment

MA Redpine
5 min readSep 28, 2017

Read my previous article concerning UN-American Values in Pro Sports, I have realized and learned something about why some NFL players kneel during the American national anthem. I got it now.

Under the U.S. Constitution, the First Amendment is one of the first ten amendments ratified in 1791. The First Amendment stated:

Freedom of religion, speech, and the press; rights of assembly and petition Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press, or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

Let me clarify what I think of why the NFL players kneel during the national anthem. According to the First Amendment, they have their rights of free expression in protest for some reasons. Although I don’t agree with their protests or beliefs, I respect their free expressions and rights to demonstrate something for their group or community or our country.

First of all, I grew up with the moral values in my Christian family. It is very difficult for me to comprehend numerous complications that I’ve never experienced before. For example, something is more violent in most urban areas with higher criminal rates and ghettos than the suburdan areas where I have lived in my whole life. Most blacks have lived in the urban areas, where there are a lot of crimes out there. They have suffered with a lot of oppressions by the whites for years.

Let me talk about the latest protests related to the politics. Former NFL player, Colin Kaepernick, is a big example of protesting with the most powerful political-related message stating: ENOUGH of the black oppression here in America! Whew! For this main reason, he freely started to protest by kneeling during the national anthem prior to the tip of an NFL game in September 2016. Although I don’t have any respect for Keapernick, he really does have his rights of free expression in protest with his powerful message on behalf of the blacks in America.

I have my own personal experience of oppression, too. Audism is defined as discrimination that is based on a person’s ability, or lack of ability, to hear. I have suffered with the audism numerous times in my entire life because of my Deafness since birth. All Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing citizens including myself have been oppressed in the hearing world. That is why we keep fighting and continue protesting that we must have our rights to get accessed to everything of what the hearing people have done except hearing. That is the same idea about the blacks and other minority groups being oppressed by the whites in America. Another example, Muslims have been oppressed by the far-right conservative evangelists. Yes, all minority communities, such as Blacks, Deafies and even Muslims, ARE also Americans!

I realize that 45th U.S. President Donald Trump has too much overreactions to all people involved in our demonstrations. Here is a couple of the examples that I strongly oppose to his offensive comments:

  • The NBA Golden State Warriors, especially guard Stephen Curry, hesitated about visiting the White House because they don’t feel comfortable with the current president in office. Trump dared to rescind their invitation to the White House. Wow! However, the Warriors shrugged and moved on to find another way to celebrate the most recent NBA championship on their next Washington DC visit when they are scheduled to play against the Washington Wizards. Well, in their shoes, I personally would do the same thing that I would decline to attend the White House as long as Trump is around in office. I can’t stand Trump’s bigotries and racism!
  • I was totally appalled by Trump’s reckless insult to the NFL players that those players must be fired by the commissioner or team owner for kneeling during the national anthem. WHOA! Oh my God! Firing any player for kneeling during the national anthem is totally RIDICULOUS! Obviously, Trump doesn’t understand that some NFL players and even team personnel have the rights of free expression for various reasons. Trump doesn’t understand that the blacks have suffered with lots of oppressions in America for many years! Unbelievable!

It is totally up to the NFL, NBA, NHL, or MBL commissioner about whether their respective players can kneel or must stand during the national anthem. NOT to President Trump! In my opinion, the commissioner of one major sports league should set the rules of behaviors for all players, coaches and other team personnel to comply with. Or in another way, the team owner can set the rules for his/her team personnel.

Like I’ve said before, I grew up with the moral values in all my life. I strongly believe that standing during the national anthem is strictly an appropriate behavior to honor our country, its flag and all people serving for our country. In any major league commissioner’s shoes, I would set the rules of behavior that all teams must be in attendance for the national anthem. They all must stand during the national anthem. Standing with locked arms is acceptable; however, kneeling is not acceptable in my philosophy. That is why I absolutely agree with U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV) on the Fox News that the NFL owners (or commissioner) must make clear that they won’t tolerate kneeling for the flag.

However, it is very complicated due to the rights of freedom and free expression, according to the First Amendment. Unless the commissioner or team owner sets the stricter rules, I respect every citizen’s rights of freedom to kneel in protest during the national anthem for various reasons that you cannot judge. There are so much diversity of society, cultures, and people that cannot afford oppression at all! Oppressions of the blacks, Muslims, other minority groups and Deafies are ENOUGH!!!!!

Therefore, to be clear, I strongly support ALL civil rights and diversity of all types. It doesn’t matter whether I agree or disagree with them. I only respect their rights for many different reasons. When I disagree with some civil-related protests, I strictly stay neutral and leave them alone. I simply let them go. That is their choice to protest in demonstration. Remember, every citizen has the freedom of speech, religion, expression and the press, according to the First Amendment. They are free to make their own choices for what is the best for them. Here it is the same idea about my rights of free expression in protest against the NBA’s SuperTeam issues. Respect all civil rights and every citizen’s free expression and speech without engaging in violence or crime!

Unfortunately, today, there are many protests against President Trump across the country because he is totally unethical! Discrimination, racism and antagonism are UNACCEPTABLE in America and any other country! SHAME on President Trump!

--

--

MA Redpine

🌺Marian🌸 • Fashion Designer • Artist • Avid 🏀 and NBA Fan • Author • Vegan